University Identified as a Youth Agribusiness Incubation Center

University of Eldoret has entered into an agreement with the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation through the State Department for Crop Development to become one of the hosts of the Youth Agribusiness Incubation Centres (YABICS) within the North Rift Economic Bloc (NOREB) counties to assist the government in implementing the ENABLE Youth Kenya Program.

The MoU which was signed on 18th April, 2019 by the Ag. Principal Secretary State Department for Crop Development H.E Prof. Hamadi Boga was witnessed by the University Deputy Vice-Chancellor (PRE), Prof. Phillip Raburu and Prof. Julius Ochuodho (YABIC Focal Person- UoE). The MoU will facilitate the University to conduct agribusiness incubation for youth who are aged between 18-35 years for a minimum period of three (3) months and a maximum of twelve (12) months within the NOREB counties.

The ENABLE Youth Kenya Program which is a joint cooperative programme which is sponsored by the African Development Bank whose goal is to contribute to job creation, food and nutrition security, income generation and improved livelihoods of youths aims at;

  1. Creating an enabling environment for youth empowerment.
  2. Entrepreneurship and agribusiness training and incubation.
  3. Financing youth-led agribusinesses and
  4. Program coordination and management.

Thus, within the MoU, University of Eldoret as the host institution will be responsible for offering educative programmes, training, research, consultancy and provision of Agricultural extension services to the youths within the NOREB counties.

Other YABICS centers will be located in Pwani University (Kilifi County), National Aquaculture Development Centre (Kirinyaga County), Kenya School of Agriculture (Nyeri County), Kisii University (Kisii County), Ramogi Institute of Advanced Technology-RIAT (Kisumu County), Dairy Training Institute(Nakuru County), and Laikipia University-Maralal Campus (Samburu County)