UNIVERSITY OF ELDORET

OFFICE OF THE DEAN OF STUDENTS

INTERNAL MEMO

TO: ALL STUDENTS

FROM: DEAN OF STUDENTS **REF:** UOE/B/DOSA/ELEC/084

DATE: 3RD APRIL, 2017

SUBJECT: THE UNIVERSITIES AMENDMENT ACT2016: CHANGE OF THE

STUDENT LEADERSHIP STRUCTURE AND ELECTION PROCESS

Introduction

This is to bring to the attention of all students about the changes that were brought about by the above mentioned bill which was signed into law by the President of the Republic of Kenya on 16th December, 2016. The changes touch on the leadership structure and the election process in all Public and Private Universities, including the University of Eldoret and will be enforced in the forth coming UESO elections. The following is an extract of the law without any alterations touching on; (i). Leadership structure and (ii) Election process

Leadership Structure

- (1A) A Students' Association shall be governed by Students' Council comprising of:-
 - (a) Chairperson;
 - (b) Vice Chairperson who shall be of opposite gender with the Chairperson;
 - (c) Treasurer;
 - (d) Secretary-General who shall be the secretary to the Council; and
 - (e) Three other members to represent special interests of students.
- (1B) Every Students' Council shall be elected in accordance with this Act and its Membership shall:-
 - (a) reflect national diversity; and
 - (b) have not more than two-thirds of its members being of the same gender.

Election process



- (1C) For purposes of conducting the election of the members of the Students' Council referred to in subsection (1A), the Students' Association shall constitute itself into electoral colleges based on either academic departments, schools or faculties, as may be appropriate.
- (1D) The students of each electoral college constituted under subsection (1C) shall elect three representatives:-
 - (a) from amongst persons who are not candidates under subsection (1A); and
 - (b) of whom not more than two-thirds shall be of the same gender.
- (1E) The representatives of each electoral college shall elect the members of the Students' Council within thirty days of the election under subsection (1D).
- (IF) A member of the Students' Council shall hold office for a term of one year and may be eligible for re-election for one final term.
- (1G) A person who has held office as a member of the Students' Council of a University for two terms is disqualified from election as a member of the student council of any other University or constituent college in Kenya.
- (1H) Every Students' Association shall in consultation with the University, formulate and enact rules to govern the conduct of elections including regulation of campaigns, election financing, offences and penalties.
- (1I) An election conducted pursuant to this section shall comply with the general principles of the Kenyan electoral system under Article 81 of the Constitution and the rules governing the election of members of the Students' Council.

Consultation with all stakeholders has been ongoing in order to amend the current UESO Constitution to comply with these provisions. In particular and for purpose of the forthcoming elections, the following shall constitute the membership of the Students Council;

- i) Chairperson
- ii) Vice- chairperson
- iii) Treasurer
- iv) Secretary General
- v) Special Member in Charge of Persons with Disability
- vi) Special Member in Charge of Postgraduate and International Students
- vii) Special Member in Charge of Entertainment, Games & Sports

All students, especially those intending to contest for leadership positions in the forthcoming elections are advised to familiarize themselves with these provisions.



The UESO constitution capturing this provisions will in due course be posted in the University website.

DR. LELEI K. KIBOIY DEAN OF STUDENTS

- **Cc** -Vice-Chancellor
 - -Deputy Vice-Chancellor (ASA)
 - -Deputy Vice-Chancellor (A&F)
 - -Registrar Administration
 - -Registrar Academic
 - -Registrar Planning
 - -Snr. Legal Officer
 - -Finance Officer
 - -Deans of Schools
 - -Directors
 - -Principal Security Officer
 - -University Librarian
 - -Returning Officer 5th Students' Council Elections
 - -Chairperson 4th Students' Governing Council
 - -Students Electoral Commission Chairperson

